CURRENT LABORATORY MEMBERS
POST DOCTORAL FELLOWS

Lalima G. Ahuja
(Lalima L. Madan)

Integrated M.S. Ph.D. Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science
B.S. (Honors) Biochemistry, University of Delhi

lahuja@ucsd.edu

James Hall

Ph.D. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of California, Riverside
M.S. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of California, Riverside
B.S. Biochemistry, University of California, Riverside

j7hall@ucsd.edu


GRADUATE STUDENTS

Jason Del Rio

B.S. Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, UC Irvine
Candidate for Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences, UC San Diego

j1delrio@ucsd.edu 

 

Kristofer Haushalter

M.S. Chemistry & Biochemistry, UC San Diego
B.S. Biochemistry, UC Santa Barbara
Candidate for Ph.D. Chemistry & Biochemistry, UC San Diego

khaushal@ucsd.edu 

 


RESEARCHERS
Ronit Ilouz

Ph.D. in Biochemisry, Tel-Aviv University, Israel

rilouz@ucsd.edu


Alexandr Kornev
Research Specialist

M.S. Molecular Biophysics, 
Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Ph.D. Biophysics, 
Semenov Institute of Chemical Physics, Moscow

akornev@ucsd.edu

 



Yuliang (Frank) Ma
Research Specialist

Ph.D., SUNY, Stony Brook

yma@ucsd.edu

 

 


Mira Sastri
Research Specialist

Bachelor and Masters, Osmania University, Hyderabad,India

Doctorate, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Institut fur Physiologie Chemie, Ruhr Universitat Bochum, Germany

msastri@ucsd.edu

 


Jian Wu
Project Scientist

Ph.D.(2000) in Chemistry Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China.

jianwu@ucsd.edu

 

Ping Zhang

B.S. Biology, University of Science and Technology of China
Ph.D. Structural Biology, Purdue University

pizhang@ucsd.edu


ADMINISTRATION AND TECHNICIANS


Miguel Escalona
Laboratory Coordinator

M.S. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, UC Riverside
B.S. Biology, CU Colorado Springs

(858) 534-3052
mhescalona@ucsd.edu


Grace Liu
Laboratory Manager

Ph.D. Ohio State University
M.D. Peking University, Health Science Center

(858) 534-8190
grl014@ucsd.edu


Eric Smith-Nguyen
Research Technician

B.S. Pharmacological Chemistry, UC San Diego
M.S. Chemistry, UC San Diego

esmithnguyen@ucsd.edu


UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS


Cole Nielsen
Research Assistant

Candidate for B.S. Neuroscience, UC San Diego

c3nielse@ucsd.edu


Melanie Slate
Research Assistant

Candidate for B.S. Biochemistry/Chemistry, UC San Diego

mslate@ucsd.edu


Yunshu Song
Laboratory Volunteer

Candidate for B.S. Biochemistry/Chemistry, UC San Diego

yus024@ucsd.edu


Kathryn Stein
Research Assistant

Candidate for B.S. Microbiology, UC San Diego

kstein@ucsd.edu


Elaine Tran
Administrative Assistant

Candidate for B.S. Pharmacological Chemistry, UC San Diego

emt005@ucsd.edu


Alexander Williams
Laboratory Volunteer

Candidate for B.S. Chemistry, UC San Diego

asw008@ucsd.edu


Vanessa Xia
Research Assistant

Candidate B.S. Chemical Engineering, UC San Diego

vxia@ucsd.edu


HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS


Nicola Schroeder
Volunteer